A few of my favorite foods

45dd6e90172d11e3a9d822000a9e29af_7

A few of my favorite foods

I unexpectedly found myself with some extra time today and decided to enjoy Whole Foods instead of dashing in and out for the necessary item or two. I found some old favorites, some new things (always willing to try something once). In New York this summer, I tried something new and picked up some beet juice and instantly took a liking to it. The great thing about juicing beets is you can juice the root AND toss the greens into a smoothie. It’s great to mix up your smoothie greens anyway.  In addition to beets, it has apple, carrot, ginger and lemon. It’s absolutely refreshing and yes it’s an acquired taste.  Some other oldies are Luna Bars BUT recently I read more into soy products (after writing them off completely 6-7 years ago) and came to learn that while soy in its whole form is okay to consume, soy protein isolate (aka processed soy) is a product we need to avoid (especially women). For more info on this, I found the Dr. Oz segment to be helpful.  Check that out here.  So I begrudgingly picked up probably the last few Luna bars I’ll be eating (until I make a batch of my homemade Lara bars).

So Delicious is something new – a coconut-milk based yogurt. Curious to try it out. And finally guacamole & kale salad are simply staples.

Keeping a plant-based diet.

Meeting Scott Jurek, author of Eat and Run

Meeting Scott Jurek, author of Eat and Run

I met ultramarathoner Scott Jurek when he was in town in 2011 to promote his book, Eat and Run, and Fleet Feet hosted a fun run.  It was really fun, I ran right next to him, he asked me my name, it was really exciting for me! His book was inspirational to me and the reason behind why I started questioning my Pakistani-roots of ‘meat and bread’ and started consuming foods from the land. When Scott Jurek credits his diet for winning 100 mile races, I am definitely changing my lifestyle – no question there!  As part of my decision to eat more plant-based foods, I picked up the Vega protein. I’ve used their protein powder before, but not their nutrition bar.

"Be Somebody"

“Be Somebody”

2 thoughts on “A few of my favorite foods

Leave a Reply

