Recipe: Overnight Oats

The recipes for overnight oats are a dime a dozen, make them your own way! Really, don’t get hung up on how to make them “perfect”. I love to make them the night before I know I will have a busy morning, race day, or during Ramadan, for my pre-dawn meal (Suhoor).

The oats truly need at least 3 hours in the fridge, but many just keep them overnight. They are very easy to make, and all you need to remember is a 1:1 ratio of oats to liquid. Most will add milk of your choice, I’ve seen some people add juice. I would not… Play with the thickness of oats you desire, more or less liquid, more or less yogurt.

To the milk and oat mixture, some people will add (greek) yogurt for added smoothness and protein. I go back and forth on how I feel about the yogurt. It’s great to get that extra bit of protein for sure. To this you can add several nuts, seeds, spices, and dried fruit. Be sure to give it a good stir before you set it for the night, and in the morning you can add fresh fruit. I like to top off with fresh bananas.

Overnight oats

Overnight oats

Some additions to add before refrigeration:
Chia seeds
Cacao nibs
Nuts
Hemp seeds
Agave
Cinnamon
Honey
PB2
Cocoa powder
Protein powder

Good morning! Now, stir it up and you can add:
Peanut butter
Fresh fruit
Espresso shots
Jam
Anything else you want!

 

Leave a Reply

